data-ad-client="ca-pub-2728956179657157" data-ad-slot="3015799056">

The 12 Personality Archetypes: Which One Dominates You?

Personality Archetypes – models of people, behaviors or personalities

- Advertisement -

By Carl Golden

Do you know every person has one dominant archetype that dominates our personality?

But, what exactly is an archetype?

- Advertisement 2-

The term “archetype”  has a Greek origin and is a combination of the word archein, which means “original or old”; and typos, which means “pattern, model or type”. Together it means “original pattern” of which all other similar persons, objects, or concepts are derived.

The Swiss psychiatrist psychologist, Carl Gustav Jung, introduced the concept of archetype in his theory of the human psyche. He believed that archetypes (representing universal patterns and images) reside within the collective unconscious of people.

His concepts not only made a significant contribution to mainstream psychology but laid the foundation of both ancient and contemporary works.


What is the origin of these personal archetypes?

- Advertisement -

According to Jung’s analysis, these personality archetypes exist in the collective unconscious (the source of psychological inheritance) and regulate how humans experience certain things. Jung believes that the collective unconscious contains the experiences and knowledge that humans share.  We tend to inherit these personality archetypes just like we inherit the genetic patterns of behavior.

In his book, The archetypes and the collective unconscious, Carl Jung mentioned that Archetypes represent fundamental human motifs of our experience as we evolved; consequentially, they evoke deep emotions.  It is due to these archetypes in the world, there are so many powerful ideas in history, as per his book The Structure of the Psyche.


Jungian Personality archetypes

Jung defined twelve personality archetypes that symbolize basic human motivations. As per Jung’s theory archetypes are inborn tendencies that influence human behavior. Each type has its own set of values, meanings and personality traits.

A study published in Procedia-Social and Behavioral Sciences identified that a person can have several dominant archetypes in the early youth stage, but one dominant archetype is linked with several personality traits.

Also, the twelve types are divided into three sets of four, namely Ego (conscious mind), Soul and Self. The types in each set share a common driving source, for example, types within the Ego set are driven to fulfill ego-defined agendas. Understanding each type can give valuable insights into what drives our goals, desires, behaviors, and motivation.


Different personality archetypes


The Ego Types

1. The Innocent

Motto:  Free to be you and me

Core desire: to get to paradise

Goal:  to be happy

Greatest fear: to be punished for doing something wrong

Strategy: to do what is right

Weakness: boring for all their naive innocence and overly trusting person

Talent: faith, positive outlook towards life, can uplift others

The Innocent is also known as: Utopian, mystic, romantic, saint, traditionalist, naive, dreamer and happy-go-lucky.


2. The Orphan/Regular Guy or Gal

Motto: All men and women are created equal

Core Desire: to connect with others

Goal: belonging in the world

Greatest fear: to be left out or to stand out from the crowd

Strategy: develop ordinary solid virtues, be down to earth, the common touch, join groups and communities to find a place to fit in

Weakness: being cynical or losing one’s own self in the quest to fit in or for the sake of superficial relationships

Talent: realism, honesty, empathy, pragmatic, lack of pretense

The Regular Person is also known as: The good old boy, the working stiff,  the realist, the good neighbor, the solid citizen, the silent majority.


3. The Hero

Motto:  Where there’s a will, there’s a way

Core desire: to prove one’s worth through courageous acts

Goal: expert mastery in a way that improves the world

Greatest fear: weakness, vulnerability,

Strategy: to be  strong, competent and stand up for others

Weakness: arrogance, always needing another battle to fight

Talent: competence and courage

The Hero is also known as: The warrior, superhero, crusader, rescuer, the soldier, dragon slayer, the winner, and the team player.

Do you know people with low confidence have common personality archetypes? To better understand this read 7 Inner Archetypes That Cripple Your Confidence and Self-Respect

Advertisement End


Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

I can’t understand





I've been a self-development and lifestyle writer for the past 5 years and currently pursuing my degree in theoretical psychology.
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x