How Applying The 5 Love Languages To Self-Love Can Help You Thrive

Applying Love Languages To SelfLove Help Thrive

Gary Chapman’s 5 Love Languages is iconic when it comes to having a happy and emotionally satisfying relationship with your partner. Just like having a healthy bond with your partner is important, having a happy relationship with yourself is important too, and the best way to love yourself in the right way is to apply the 5 Love Languages to self-love.

The way you love others, support them, and help them be the happiest version of themselves, how many times do you do that for yourself, and just yourself? Do you show yourself the same kindness and love that you show others? The best way to live a truly happy and fulfilling life is to love yourself first, because at the end of the day if you do not love yourself, you will never be able to love anybody else the right way.

Here Is How You Can Apply The 5 Love Languages To Self-Love And Love Yourself

1. Acts of Service

Acts of Service conventionally focus on feeling happy and loved when your partner shows kindness and affection towards you, but it is something that you can definitely do for yourself. Prepare a list of the things that you need to do to make your life feel easier and less cluttered, and then tick them off one by one, till all the things are done. For example,

  • Scheduling regular check-ups with your doctors for your mental health and physical health.
  • Organizing your home in such a way that it makes you feel happy and peaceful the moment you enter. Having a nice, clean house can make you feel amazing like nothing else.
  • Take care of yourself and groom yourself so that you feel beautiful all the time.
  • Eating and preparing healthy meals for yourself, and taking care of your body. Treating your body like a temple can help you go a long way in life.

2. Words of Affirmation

This is one of the most important love languages that you can apply to self-love. Feeding yourself with positive thoughts and positive mantras can help you so much when it comes to treating yourself with kindness and love. Fill your cup to the brim with a lot of positivity and self-love affirmations, and just see how your life changes for the better. For example,

  • Make sure that your self-talk is always positive, and keep your inner critic dormant. Be your biggest cheerleader.
  • Maintain a diary, and note down all your positive traits and all those things that you are grateful for in life. Write down your accomplishments, your dreams, what makes you feel good, what you love about yourself, etc.
  • Chant self-compassionate mantras, and always focus on being kind to yourself.
  • Enact positive self-affirmations daily to yourself. The more good things you feed your heart and brain, the happier you will be.

Related: 50+ Marilyn Monroe Quotes To Fall In Love With Life Again

3. Quality Time

Quality time means spending time alone, away from all the chaos and complications of life. If you feel inclined towards quality time as your love language, then focus on solitude. The more comfortable you are with solitude, the more confident and secure you will be about yourself. After all, when you have no trouble being alone, you are nothing short of unfuckwithable. For example,

  • Do all those things that make you happy, like bingeing on Netflix, reading a book in your favorite cafe while sipping on your favorite coffee, sleeping, playing video games, watching a movie alone, etc.
  • Find time daily for healthy mindfulness activities like meditation, yoga, tai chi, deep breathing, etc.
  • Exercise at least 4 times a week, to take better care of your body and keep your mind fresh.
  • Don’t drown yourself in work and commitments; take some time out for yourself and do things that make you happy. Life is not always about deadlines, rat races, and meetings.
Scroll to Top