What Are Chakras? A Quick and Easy Guide

What Are Chakras? A Quick and Easy Guide

Here’s a quick and easy guide about Chakras.

If you are new to metaphysics, energy healing and/or crystals, or any other form of “new age” information, you may frequently come across the topic of chakras; an area that can be quite confusing.

When I first saw the name pop up, I frequently asked myself, “What are chakras? And what do they do?” For those who have similar questions, this quick and easy guide about Chakras. should help clarify things, without going into too much depth.

What are chakras?

Before we get into what chakras are, let’s first define what a chakra is. The word chakra is a Sanskrit term which means spinning wheel or vortex. We have seven main chakras that are aligned from the base of our spine to the top of our heads. These chakras are on different points of the body, even though they are aligned along the spine. One can imagine several whirling wheels of energy going from the base of their spine up to the top of their head. Here is a graphic which depicts where each chakra is located in our body.

“The chakras are specialized energy centers that connect us to the multidimensional universe. The chakras are dimensional portals within the subtle bodies which take in and process the energy of higher vibrational nature so that it may be properly assimilated and used to transform the physical body.” –Richard Gerber in Vibrational Medicine.

What do they do?

Chakras govern and bring energy into the nerve bundles and organs associated with each particular chakra; think of them as energy centers in which energy flows through in our body. The energy that is brought into and generated by the chakras is the same energy that electrifies our Universe and keeps us alive; known as life force, Prana, Chi, Qi, and other terms in various cultures. Chakras help to fuel our body’s electrical system and keep it balanced. The chakras also manage our physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual well-being.

Since energy is always moving throughout our body, through these energy centres, it is important that our seven chakras stay open, aligned and fluid. If there are any blockages then energy cannot flow. Think of a bathtub drain that’s stuck with hair for example. The bathtub backs up with water, decays and then eventually bacteria and mould begins to grow. Our bodies do the same when our chakras are blocked; problems occur. Problems such as illness, discomfort, and feeling physically and emotionally drained, or out of balance.

However, of course, our chakras are not physical like a bathtub so keeping them open can be a challenge. We must point out here that when we talk about chakras being open, what we actually mean is keeping them balanced. Too much or too little energy flowing through our chakras may affect the way we think, act and feel. For this beginner’s post, we won’t delve into why this may occur, or ways we can keep our chakras open and balanced. Instead, we’ll outline a few quick and easy guides about each chakra.

Here is a quick and easy guide about chakras:

Read The 7 Chakra Personality Types You Must Know About

1. Root Chakra

The first chakra is located at the base of the spine. This chakra is known as the Root Chakra. The Sanskrit name for this chakra is Muladhara. This chakra is related to survival.

  • The colour associated with this chakra is red.
  • The element associated with this chakra is Earth.
  • The lotus flower that is associated with this chakra is red and has four petals.
  • Organs/systems/body parts that are governed by the root chakra: feet, back, reproductive organs, large intestine.
  • Feelings associated with this chakra: security, well-being, grounded, stability.
  • Crystals associated with this chakra: Bloodstone, Onyx, Red jasper.
  • Foods associated with this chakra: root vegetables, red coloured fruits and vegetables.
  • Signs of not enough energy flowing through this chakra: lack of energy, depression, insecurity, not feeling connected, financial issues, security issues.
  • Signs of too much energy flowing through this chakra: greed, excess need for control.

2. Sacral Chakra

The second chakra is located between the navel and the pubic bone. This chakra is known as the Sacral Chakra. The Sanskrit word for this chakra is Svadhisthana. This chakra is related to emotion.

3 thoughts on “What Are Chakras? A Quick and Easy Guide”

Comments are closed.

Scroll to Top