The Six Levels of Higher Consciousness: How to Make the Shift

The Six Levels of Higher Consciousness: How to Make the Shift

The healing you long for doesn’t come from changing anything. The levels of higher Consciousness comes from the ability to see and be with what is, for who you are is awareness.

Your life is a journey from unconsciousness to higher consciousness

Take a moment now to feel how different that is from the way you usually perceive Life: as something happening to you that needs to be controlled, fixed and changed. Imagine what it would be like to let go of the whole game of resisting Life and instead to trust it. In this trust you could then open to it, listen to it, and grow from every encounter.

Life is not just a random series of events that happen because you did it right or you did it wrong. Instead, it is an intelligent unfolding that is revealing itself to you all day long, bringing you step-by-step from unconsciousness into a state of higher consciousness.

The Six Levels of Higher Consciousness: How to Make the Shift

The Six Levels of Consciousness 

Your life is a journey from unconsciousness to higher consciousness. Michael Beckwith, minister of the Agape Church, describes this evolution in four phases. I have added two more, “Life happens in you” and “Life happens for you,” and call them the “Six Phases of Higher Consciousness.”

1. Life happens to you. 2. Life happens by you. 3. Life happens in you. 4. Life happens for you. 5. Life happens through you. 6. Life is you.

Let us take a few minutes to explore each level of consciousness. I invite you, as you read, to keep on checking in with yourself. You are being given important information in this article. Remember that the most powerful thing you can do for your healing is to have your attention and your experience together, even as you are reading this and no matter what it brings up for you.

If you want to know you have higher level of consciousness then read 5 Behaviours That Show You Are Reaching A Higher Level Of Consciousness

Dip the finger of your attention into the river of your experience. Allow whatever is here to be here. You have never experienced Life quite like this and never will again. This moment in your life is unique, and it is okay exactly as it is.

The 1st Level of Higher Consciousness: Life Happens To You 

For a good deal of your life you have probably lived like most human beings, feeling that Life is happening to you. Life is so big and if you are honest with yourself, you never really know what is going to happen next. You wake up one morning and your heart is light and happy and the next day you’re unsettled. Bosses fire you, the flu debilitates you, people you love reject you, every day you get a little older and death is always lurking around the corner.

So it is understandable that the more unconscious you are, the more often you feel like a victim to Life. When you live in the belief that Life is happening to you, you often view it as a possible threat. So you stay caught in your head, finding yourself lost in your storyteller that resists, reacts, defends and explains, hoping to figure everything out. It generally does absolutely anything except be open to Life, right here, right now.

The 2nd Level of Higher Consciousness: Life Happens By You 

When it becomes too uncomfortable to live with this much powerlessness, you evolve into the belief that Life is happening by you. Rather than being a victim to Life, you believe you can control it. There can be a great feeling of personal power in this level of consciousness. It is a necessary step in moving out of the victimhood of the first stage of higher consciousness, but people get caught there.

Men try to control women and vice versa. Religions try to control the masses. Countries try to control other countries. The majority of people try to control others who are not like them (gay, different skin color, dissimilar religions). Most of all, we try to control ourselves, hoping to make ourselves be what we think we should be.

14 thoughts on “The Six Levels of Higher Consciousness: How to Make the Shift”

  1. Avatar of Preena Star

    Dear Anna,
    I’m really in awe of this piece of art that you created. Your words have really touched a deep chord within me and I feel I’m just floating in another world thinking about the interconnectednes of all life. Life is so very intelligent, however we are unable to see its beauty because of the limitations of out intellectual mind.
    I love writing too and have read many articles online, however this is the first time that I was curious to know who the author was.
    Thank you so much for this beautiful read. I will be going over this again in depth.

    Lots of Love

  2. Avatar of Omar

    Acknowledgement of genuine weakness could lead to an enlightened submission to flow of life — do not resist matters you never control, you’re not a victim as it might have seemed to you. Acceptance will be conducive to a state of contentment, enjoy it to the full  and be always grateful ; and then you can fly in view of the strength of your wings. 


    1. Avatar of Patti Griffin

      Imagine a life where you trust Life implicitly. Every morning you wake up with a sense of adventure. Your belly is soft, your mind is curious and your heart is open. Hmmmm..What a wonderful freeing way to live… thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.

Scroll to Top