Interpreting Modern Day Zodiac Signs 101

Interpreting Modern Day Zodiac Signs

Depending on who you ask, zodiac signs are either ancient symbols that represent 12 different segments of society (and human instinct), or they’re just modern inventions used by psychics to make a quick buck. Obviously, zodiac signs have been around for quite a while. Not only have they been around in their current existence for a long time, but they’ve existed in several other formats.

Astrological signs span from country to country, culture to culture, and continent to continent. They’ve existed in so many different cultures, that covering all of them in one blog post would literally be impossible. That’s why we’ve only focused on covering the most popular modern zodiac signs (in the US/Europe, that is).

Jeff from says that nearly every single culture had some type of astrological system, along with their own zodiac symbols. For example, there’s an Aztec zodiac, an ancient Egyptian zodiac, the Celtic zodiac, and countless others. All of them are very unique and incredibly interesting to study. However, the most common zodiac system nowadays is the modern astrological system that we’re all familiar with.

Below we’ll provide a brief overview of each zodiac sign’s symbolism, as well as what it might mean if you were born under one of these signs. Understanding astrology begins with knowing the facts about your birth, what sign you are, and how that information plays into astrological movements.

Sign #1: Aries

Aries is the first sign in the modern-day astrological system and is represented by a ram symbol. Those who are born under Aries like to explore, are always on the lookout for something new, and are always looking for attention as well. While some people might think people born under Aries are self-centered, a better way to describe them would be “independent.”

Sign #2: Taurus

Taurus is the second sign and it is symbolized by a bull. People who are born during this time period always feel the need to have love present in their lives, and often have a taste for the finer things in life.

Sign #3: Gemini

Just like the name implies, and as most people know, those who are born under Gemini are represented by their dualistic qualities. The sign of Gemini is a twin symbol (representing the inherent duality present within all Geminis).

Sign #4: Cancer

This sign is found in the 90 to the 120-degree range (in regards to celestial longitude) and is represented by a crab symbol. Cancers are known to be very emotional beings, and usually possess high levels of empathy (or they’re at least capable of developing empathy).

Sign #5: Leo

Leo, which is symbolized by a lion, applies to those born between the 24th of July and the 23rd of August. One of the dominant personality traits of a Leo is that they truly enjoy being the center of attention (or attention in general).

Sign #6: Virgo

Virgo, otherwise known as “the virgin,” is a sign that symbolizes someone who’s responsible and honest. Those born under this sign tend to be more worrisome than other signs.

Sign #7: Libra

This sign applies to people born between the dates of September 24th and October 23rd. Libras usually possess the following character traits:

  • Justice-oriented
  • Fair-minded
  • Mood changes are common
  • Very high potential to be kind and polite (generally speaking)

Sign #8: Scorpio

The eighth symbol of the current zodiac system is Scorpio (aka “the scorpion”). This sign represents someone who has a high level of patience, as well as someone that is known to be “deep” to other people.

Sign #9: Sagittarius

Sagittarius applies to people who were born between November 23rd and December 22nd. Represented by the symbol of an archer. Those born under this sign are typically lively, jovial beings who enjoy all the attention and being the “life of the party.”

Sign #10: Capricorn

The 10th sign in the modern-day zodiac system is “the goat” (aka Capricorn). Capricorns are known to take their time with their pursuits, which means they can be very stubborn as well. People usually rely on Capricorns because of how dependable they can be.

Sign #11: Aquarius

Aquarius is represented by water, and just like water, they love to flow, to be free, to dream, think, and ponder.

Sign #12: Pisces

The very last sign is that of Pisces. People born between the 20th of February and the 20th of March have this sign. Pisces is represented through a fish symbol. True romantics and creatives, Pisces are.

Scroll to Top