The True Meaning Of Karma: Understanding Karma, Karmaphala and The 12 Laws

The True Meaning Of Karma

7. The law of focus

This law states that if you want to succeed in life then it’s best to focus on a single goal and exclude other thoughts. The law of karma explains that the human mind is not designed to follow multiple goals or trains of thought with the same intensity and efficacy. Single-minded focus is the key to success. Moreover, when you focus on higher-value emotions, it will eliminate lower-value emotions like anger, envy, possessiveness.

8. The law of giving and hospitality

In Hinduism, the meaning of karma is closely associated with this law. It states that the universe often tests us in different ways. We are provided with opportunities at different stages in life to apply various life lessons and find out how much more we need to improve certain aspects and traits. It is about the connection between our beliefs and our actions. According to this law of karma, when we truly believe in something, then at some point in our lives our commitment to that belief will be tested. It emphasizes the association between belief and practice.

9. The law of here and now

Being mindful and accepting the truth of reality is one of the core beliefs in Buddhism. Hence, the meaning of karma is tied to the belief in mindfulness or living in the present moment. When we cling to the past and refuse to let go of past emotions, beliefs, experiences, and relationships, we force ourselves to live in the past. Similarly, when we think too much about the future, we end up being excessively stressed and anxious. The present moment is the only reality we have and so we should enjoy it fully. Studies reveal that being mindful can cause numerous positive psychological outcomes, like reduced stress, anxiety, depression, less emotional reactivity, better behavioral regulation and increased subjective well-being. {6}

The True Meaning Of Karma: Understanding Karma, Karmaphala and The 12 Laws
The True Meaning Of Karma: Understanding Karma, Karmaphala and The 12 Laws

10. The law of change

According to the Power of Positivity, the law of change refers to the belief that history tends to repeat itself in a particular path until you learn the lesson to bring about necessary positive changes. Conscious commitment is the key to change. However, you find yourself in a plateau, then it means that you have not paid enough attention or addressed something important. On the other hand, if you find your life is dramatically changing all of a sudden, then it is a result of your efforts for personal growth.

11. The law of patience and reward

If you wish to be rewarded, then you must be willing to work extremely hard and have patience. You cannot just wish for something and not put in the work necessary to accomplish it. It is only through incessant toil, persistence, and patience that we can claim our rewards. Moreover, your focus should be on the work that you do instead of the reward. The process is more important than the outcome. You will be rewarded when the time is right. Expecting instant results will only pave the way for disappointment. Being patient will help you achieve what you are truly capable of in the long run, while impatience will restrict you to minor accomplishments.

Related: 12 Laws of Karma (That Will Change Your Life)

12. The law of significance and inspiration

The law of significance and inspiration is perhaps the most inspiring law that helps you understand the true meaning of Karma. The law states that the worth and significance of something are directly determined by the intentions and energy invested in it. Your dedication, passion, and love form the intention behind something that results in a lasting impression and contribution to “the Whole.” This karmic law emphasizes that regardless of how major or minor our contributions to the world are, it will impact the Whole. Just like kindness and compassion from others make us kinder and more compassionate, our positive attitude will attract positive energy into our lives.

Pages: 1 2 3 4

Theo Harrison

Hey there! I am just someone trying to find my way through life. I am a reader, writer, traveler, fighter, philosopher, artist and all around nice guy. I am outdoor person but heavily into technology, science, psychology, spiritualism, Buddhism, martial arts and horror films. I believe in positive action more than positive thinking.View Author posts