The True Meaning Of Karma: Understanding Karma, Karmaphala and The 12 Laws

The True Meaning Of Karma

The law of karma

Understanding the meaning of karma can help you understand the essence of the law of karma. It states that we are fully responsible for our intentions and actions. We are also responsible for anything that happens to us. The Hindu belief that good deeds result in a good life is based on this law.

The law of karma is one of the most important laws governing our lives. When we understand it, and live our understanding, when we act on what we know, then we experience a sense of wholeness and peace. If we live in a way that is out of harmony, ignoring the nature of things, we then experience dissonance, pain, and confusion,” explains Joseph Goldstein.

The law of karma posits that we are the writers of our own lives and it is up to us how we fashion it. It is a law of nature and not a belief system. It is the simple law of cause and effect – every intentional act is followed by a specific outcome or consequence. Actions driven by wisdom, love, compassion, and altruism sow seeds of happiness and abundance, while actions motivated by hatred, greed, and selfishness lead to suffering and negative karmic conditions.

The 12 Laws of karma

There are 12 different laws of karma that affect our lives. Understanding these distinct laws can help us to enable us to create good karma and live a life of fulfillment and accomplishment.

Here are the 12 laws of karma that you need to know about:

1. The great law

This refers to the law of cause and effect. According to the great law, whatever you receive, whether negative or positive, is a result of whatever you give out to the universe. So if you want something to happen in your life, you need to embody that energy within yourself. Although it is considered an illusion by scientists, unrelated events often tend to share a causal connection. {4) So if you wish to live a happy life, filled with love and abundance, then become generous.

Related: The 5 Laws of Karma (and how they affect our life)

2. The law of creation

This law explains that if you want to receive what you wish for, then you need to actively pursue it. If you are currently unhappy with your life, then look inside and ask what you can do to change the situation. Instead of simply waiting for good things to happen to you, we must take decisive action. We must actively pursue our needs and wants and be in an environment that supports our actions.

3. The law of humility

The law of humility is a crucial aspect when trying to understand the meaning of karma and Buddhism. The rule dictates that you constantly reflect on yourself to bring about the necessary changes. According to this karmic law, we must learn to accept our reality as it is if we wish to truly change it for the better. “To be humble means to appreciate the limits of your abilities, understanding, and importance,” explains a 2010 study. {5}

The True Meaning Of Karma: Understanding Karma, Karmaphala and The 12 Laws
True Meaning Of Karma

4. The law of growth

If you want your circumstances to improve, then you need to start by improving yourself. As we can only control ourselves, we can change the world around us only by changing ourselves. So before you think about changing certain situations or people, you need to focus on personal development. This will provide you with better clarity and wisdom about what actually needs to change.

5. The law of responsibility

The law of karma states that you are responsible for what happens to you in your life. You are the source of your happiness and your sorrows. Hence, it is crucial that you take ownership of your actions and consequences, instead of blaming others.

6. The law of connection

According to this karmic rule, the past, present, and future are interconnected. Hence, the better we are able to control our present, the more capable we will become to create a better future. This will prevent negative experiences and energies from the past, whether in the existing life or a previous one, to affect our present and future.

Researcher Dr. Leonardo Cannizzaro of the Italian National Research Council explains “The past is the mother of the present and the grandmother of the future. The present is the child of the past and the father of the future. The future is a child of the present and a grandson of the past.” {6}

Related: 5 Reasons Why Smart People Don’t Take Revenge They Let KARMA Take Care Of It

Pages: 1 2 3 4

Theo Harrison

Hey there! I am just someone trying to find my way through life. I am a reader, writer, traveler, fighter, philosopher, artist and all around nice guy. I am outdoor person but heavily into technology, science, psychology, spiritualism, Buddhism, martial arts and horror films. I believe in positive action more than positive thinking.View Author posts