The 6 Stages of (Resisting) Change

Stages of Resisting Change

Stage 6 – “Rock Bottom” Stage

Even though we might have been permanently “kicked out” of our comfort zone in the last stage, if we make it to this stage, we’re somehow still resisting change, and, if we continue to resist, we’ll inevitably discover that the quicksand in which we’re drowning might actually have a bottom – rock bottom! During this stage, we’re either ejected from a familiar life or derailed from a presumed trajectory – and this could mean that we may lose everything.

Despite the fact that we may be desperate to regain a sense of security or status quo, we might waste time and energy ruminating about mistakes we’ve made or blaming others for our dismal fate, or, quite possibly, seesawing between the two!

Even though we might have spent years or decades trying to control every aspect of our lives, if we want a better future, we first have to let go of everything that doesn’t work. Not only do we have to let go of all the opportunities that never came to pass, we also have to forgive ourselves for all the mistakes we’ve made, and in the process, we must purge self-pity, regret, guilt, and anger too.

Since we can no longer pretend to be who others want us to be, we must courageously peel away the false-self, layer by layer, until we discover who we really are and what we really want.

As we take responsibility for our own fate and we’re able to make conscious choices that support our True Being, we are able to create the space for new opportunities to arrive.

Once there’s a light at the end of the tunnel, we may come to realize that the Universe had closed every door but the one leading to our deepest dreams and desires.

Never too Late!

Regardless of how it might seem, it’s never too late to take charge of your fate!

Believe it or not, you have the power to deal yourself a brand new hand at any stage in the game. In fact, the quicker you wake-up, figure out what you really want and give yourself permission to have it, the easier everything becomes!

Never settle for mediocrity or the mundane when you can live your dreams!

Copyright © Nanice Ellis, 2019.

Written By Nanice Ellis
Originally appeared on: Wake Up World

Free Spiritual Awakening Series!
Are you ready to remember who you really are and connect with your True Self? No matter where you are on your path, this intensive 7 part series will support your journey to awakening. Sign up now at

Stages of Resisting Change pin

Share on

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Scroll to Top