The 6 Stages of (Resisting) Change

Stages of Resisting Change

Stage 4 – The “Tipping Point” Stage

“In order to align us with our highest path, the Universe may orchestrate a “tipping point” that propels us toward change.”

During this stage, current circumstances inevitably deteriorate beyond acceptable limits until we eventually reach a “tipping point,” and this could manifest as a reduction in pay, demotion in status or title, intensifying relationship issues or virtually anything that might push us over the edge.

Regardless of details, when tolerable circumstances exceed a personal “breaking point” and become intolerable, the excuses to resist change become meaningless!

Moreover, when emotional pain and suffering escalates beyond a certain threshold, an internal switch is triggered and we are catapulted into action. Although we might have been on the fence for years (trapped in indecision), suddenly, there’s no longer a choice, and, when this occurs, change can be virtually instant!  Oftentimes, this is when “something snaps” inside, and after months or years of painful complacency, we suddenly pack our bags and leave.

However, if our pain threshold is high or the fear of change is still greater than the pain, we could remain stuck where we are – resist change. So, even though we might be drowning in emotional quicksand, we are still willing to live in despair!

Unlike the “tipping point” stage where you still have a choice, the next stage marks the “point of no return.”

To make changes during Stage Four:

  • Do your best to make peace with the facts.
  • Don’t fight the tipping point.
  • The quicker you surrender and the easier you let go, the better things will flow.

Related: Wheel of Emotions – The Perfect Tool To Better Understand Your Emotions

Stage 5 – The Stage of Crisis

By this stage in the game, if you still resist change, the next wake-up call could become a pivotal turning point.

Oftentimes, a drastic wake-up call manifests as an unexpected crisis that forces us into action, and this could mean that we get fired from a difficult job or our partner suddenly leaves – or we could even experience a personal illness.

Once crisis forces us out of our comfort zone and we no longer have a say, we are beyond the point of no return. As a result, we are often stripped of the lies we’ve been living and we lose whatever we’ve been holding onto under pretense – specifically, any false sense of security or worth.

Not surprisingly, due to the “non-voluntary displacement” experienced in this stage, it’s common to experience chronic depression or hopelessness. However, just to be perfectly clear, none of this is due to punishment nor karma. Even though we might call it a crisis, it’s really a divine intervention where a loving Universe is conspiring for our wellbeing.

Embracing change during this stage often feels like we have no choice, but no matter how it might feel, it can be the beginning of a whole new life!

However, if we somehow still refuse to change, the next stop is Rock Bottom!

Related: 5 Lessons That This Crisis Taught Us

To make changes during Stage Five:

  • Look at the bigger picture.
  • As you try to focus on the upside, do your best to let go of the downside.
  • Stop clinging to your comfort zone.
  • Make sure to get good emotional support from a friend or professional – and don’t be afraid to ask for help!

Share on

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Scroll to Top