How To Speak Your Partner’s Love Language To Strengthen Your Relationship

Speak Partner Love Language Strengthen Relationship

2. Acts of Service

When your partner wishes to communicate love through acts of service, then you need to put in some effort to help them out with their work. Do simple actions which they will appreciate a lot. This can include doing household chores, cooking or doing the dishes, buying groceries etc.

How to communicate: 

Say things that will show them you’re available to help them. Use action words like “Let me help you” or “I’m here” or “I’ll help.”

Actions to take: 

Do things around the house including chores. Help with difficult, time consuming tasks & be spontaneous to help in small ways. Make sure to take effort to reduce their daily workload. Always follow through.

Things to avoid: 

Don’t skip the work you promised you will get done or ask your partner to do something of higher priority. Don’t ignore requests for help or fall into gender-based stereotypes for doing tasks.

3. Receiving Gifts

When your partner speaks this love language, then the first thing you need to realize is that the gifts don’t have to be expensive. As they say, it’s the thought that counts. Put in the effort to find the perfect gift for them that shows how well you know them. Gifts that show how much you value and appreciate them. It can be the simplest, yet most thoughtful gift that will matter the most to them. Small gifts and gestures matter the most. Thoughtfulness in gift giving is crucial.

How to communicate: 

Show thoughtfulness, make an effort to show that they are a priority. Give gifts which represent feelings, moments or experiences.

Actions to take: 

Give gifts randomly and unexpectedly without waiting for a special occasion. Show gratitude when receiving a gift. Bring souvenirs when you travel without your partner. Give small tokens of appreciation when they are not their best

Things to avoid:  

Make sure not to forget any special occasions. Don’t focus on materialism or the cost of the gift. Do it out of love and not as a duty.

Read also: What Is Your Love Language? Take This 6 Question Quiz To Find Out

4. Quality Time

Make sure you spend a lot of time with your partner and share experiences that are exciting, fun, loving and simple. This will show that you prioritize your partner. Go on dates every weekend, spend some time alone without children, do things that your partner likes, or simply stay at home and enjoy each other’s company.

How to communicate: 

Engage in deep meaningful conversations that are uninterrupted. Spend more time with one another. Be mentally present and give them the attention they deserve.

Actions to take: 

Focus on making special memories. Go on weekend getaways, make plans to do new activities together, take walks to the park or small things that both of you enjoy.

Things to avoid: 

Stay away from all distractions when you’re spending quality couple time together. Unplug from all devices and turn your smartphone off, if possible. Don’t focus on other priorities when spending time together. Make sure not to think of them as needy.

5. Physical Touch

Although this love language does include sexual intimacy, you need to realize that it not limited only to sex. Being physically close to you and showing affection through body language is important to your partner. This means holding hands, cuddling, hugs and kisses etc. Non-sexual touch is the key.

How to communicate: 

Use nonverbal communication like your body language & touch to show your love.

Actions to take:

Regularly show physical affection. Kiss, hug, hold hands. Offer massages. Put your arm around your partner & embrace them. Physical intimacy should be your top priority in the relationship. 

Things to avoid

Don’t ignore your partner or engage in physical neglect. Don’t spend long periods without intimacy or receive affection casually. Don’t wait for your partner to show physical affection.

Read also: 10 Things To Remember When Your Partner’s Love Language Is ‘Touch’

Love how your partner wants to be loved

And they will love you in your preferred love language as well. The 5 love languages by Chapman shows us that we need to make an effort to improve our behavior in order to strengthen our relationship. This is self-regulation,” writes Carol Church of University of Florida. She adds “Many relationship experts advise that when things aren’t going as well as you’d like with your partner, the best first step may be to change yourself first.

When we change ourselves and change the way we express love to our partners, it can show them how much they are loved, valued and appreciated in the relationship. Loving your partner in the way they want to receive love will improve your interpersonal communication and make your relationship a lot more satisfying.

Read also: Love Languages Redefined: Decoding The “Sixth” Language Of Love

Here is an interesting video that you may find helpful:

Speak Partner Love Language Strengthen Relationship Pin

2 thoughts on “How To Speak Your Partner’s Love Language To Strengthen Your Relationship”

  1. Very well done & wriutten my friend.
    I started writing a blog very recently and have
    seen many blogs merely rehash old content but add very little
    of worth. It’s fantastic to read an ehlightening article of some genuine value to your readers
    annd I.
    It is actually going down on the list of things I need tto replicate aas a
    new blogger. Audience engagement and material value aare king.

    Some superb thoughts; you have unquestionably got on my list of sites to watch!

    Continue the fantastic work!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top