The 8 Stages Of Life According to Erikson

life according to erikson

4. Stage 4: Early years in school (5-12 years)

Factors: Industry vs Inferiority

In this stage, children have an increased sense of perception and consciousness. They start comparing themselves to other people. They engage in social interactions and try to establish their own individuality.

Industry: Children who are more accomplished than others can begin to take a sense of pride for their achievements. They become self-confident and when parents praise them, it can boost their self-esteem also.

Inferiority: Children who have not yet achieved anything significant here can start doubting their self-worth. When they are criticized by their parents for this, they can start feeling inferior to others.

5. Stage 5 : Adolescence (12-18 years)

Factors: Identity vs Confusion

This is the point where children start to question their existence. They may try to find answers to the question “Who am I?”, and try developing different personalities to see which suits them the best.

Identity: in order to be successful in this stage, students need to be aware of their abilities and develop a sense of self-awareness. They will try to determine what their priorities in life are, like academics, family, hobbies, etc., and try to set goals for themselves, in order to accomplish those priorities.

Confusion: Some children may have not yet developed their sense of self-awareness. They might struggle with becoming the person their parents or their society expects them to be. They may start to get confused about who they are and what they want to do in life without a consistent self-identity.

Scroll to Top