4 Quadrants Of Emotional Intelligence And What They Mean

quadrants of emotional intelligence

2. Self-Management

  • Learn to manage your emotions, and practice how to handle them at the right time. Don’t let your emotions control you all the time.
  • The more you practice regulating your emotions, the higher your emotional intelligence will be. For example, before reacting to a difficult situation, take a few deep breaths and come up with ways to handle it in a mature way.
  • Consider other people’s emotions.

Want to know more about emotional intelligence? Check this video out below!

Emotional intelligence

3. Social Awareness

  • Recognize what others’ are feeling, and acknowledge the truth that most of them are controlled by their emotions like robots.
  • Stop believing what others’ tell you, and learn to differentiate between fake and authentic emotions.
  • Spend time with positive people, and people from whom you can learn a lot of good things. Consume positive things (reading, watching, listening).
  • Try to give back to your community and the world in general, whenever you can.

4. Relationship Management

  • Set boundaries as far as your emotions are concerned, and learn to understand the necessity of separating your feelings from other people’s feelings.
  • You don’t have to imbibe, feel and react to every emotion that comes your way.
  • Keep in mind that you don’t have to absorb everyone else’s emotions, as your own. Their emotions are theirs, they don’t always have to be yours.

Emotional intelligence helps you be aware of your emotions, and be smart about them. Being emotionally intelligent is not just about being nice and happy, it’s more about being honest, transparent and authentic. Knowing and understanding how you feel, and how others feel is crucial to being authentic and true to yourself.

quadrants of emotional intelligence pin

Scroll to Top